September 3rd, 2010

The Year of the Rabbit

“The Lunar Year,” Mint of Finland Ltd’s unique series of Chinese Lunar coins, will continue this year with its second issue, “The Year of the Rabbit.” The complete series will comprise 12 themes, one for each animal of the Chinese zodiac.

Four coins will be minted on the “Year of the Rabbit” theme: the yin and yang shaped coins “Winter Rabbit” and “Summer Rabbit,” that together form a unique set; the padprinted “Carrot Rabbit” coin, and “Cabbage Rabbit,” a coin incorporating a world-first feature, with the rabbit made of silver filigree. The first item in the series of Chinese Lunar coins was dated 2010, for “The Year of the Tiger.”

Blog . News and Notes . World coins